Building A Hugelkultur

Video showing the benefits of a Hugelkultur (raised bed system), things like using little to no water/irrigation. It also shows how to build and maintain the bed. Interesting clip, I might employ something like this on my allotment instead of your standard raised beds.

Author: Andrew

My name's Andrew Towell, I’m 32 years of age and I was born and live in a coastal town called Hartlepool located in the North East of England. The idea behind starting the blog is for me to research sustainable living practices, I enjoy growing plants so their will be an emphasis on organic food production.

1 thought on “Building A Hugelkultur”

  1. My son bought me Gaia’s Garden for Christmas this last year and they talked about these types of beds in the book. he just finished getting his permaculture certification so coached me through the finer points. So when I redid a bunch of raised beds in my yard, I included wood to rot, covered with lots of humus and compost, and then soil. so will be following the progress of this – I was mostly interested in this because even in Western Oregon, where everyone thinks it is so wet, we are getting less and less rainfall in the summer and I wanted to utilize all the water saving techniques I could.

What do you think about it?

