Peter Piper Just Picked His Peppers

pepper 3
So following on from my previous post on Tomatoes here’s the Pepper seeds I’ve picked as well. Last year was all F1 peppers so this year is all Heritage/Heirloom ones, as it stands I’ve got 5 Chilli Peppers and 6 Sweet Peppers. I plan to do only chilli peppers in the hydro system and sweet peppers in soil but we’ll see. I believe I read that chilli and sweet like a different PH value so if that is the case I’ll be more inclined to use the chemicals to grow the chillies.

In regards to the Hydroponic setup, it’s a drip system, a 10 pot Wilma as it’s known. It’s an expensive system to buy and run and a few harsh chemicals are used in the process of growing the plants so doesn’t really follow my sort of organic ethics. Its not something I went out and bought, it was a gift and would be a real shame not to use. I used it last year and had some really good results in my opinion, it’s also nice to have an semi automated system where you know you can say go away for a week or two and your plants are constantly being watered and fed.

One of the upsides of hydroponics is apparently it uses 90% less water than you would in a normal pot. Obviously all of the synthetic salt based nutrients I am giving them is all being taken up by the plant so there is nothing going down the drain or any chance of say “run off” into the ground. Also although the pump is wired into the mains in my situation it’s also possible to run it off of a solar panel too.

Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Co (Chilli):
Cayenne Long Thin Pepper
Pasilla Bajio Pepper
Purple Jalapeno Pepper
Thai Red Chili Pepper

The Real Seeds Catalogue (Chilli):
Lemon Drop Hot Citrus Pepper

Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Co (Sweet):
Italian Pepperoncini Pepper

The Real Seeds Catalogue (Sweet):
Orange Bell Early Sweet Pepper
Amy Sweet Hungarian Wax Pepper
Slovakia Sweet Pepper
Semaroh Early Sweet Pepper

The Heritage Seed Library (Sweet):
Soror Sarek

I’ll be posting more information about each individual variety when it comes to planting them. Theirs going to be some tasty meals knocked up out of this lot, really can’t wait to try them.

Author: Andrew

My name's Andrew Towell, I’m 32 years of age and I was born and live in a coastal town called Hartlepool located in the North East of England. The idea behind starting the blog is for me to research sustainable living practices, I enjoy growing plants so their will be an emphasis on organic food production.

One thought on “Peter Piper Just Picked His Peppers”

  1. Came accross your blog looking for more info on others growing semaroh, I am also running the semaroh & lemon drop from RS amongst some others this year, they were planted in the buckets last week while on the fourth internode, no flowers yet, a bit to early.
    Hope you get some good results, all the best.

What do you think about it?

