Rainy mountains speed CO2 removal

Interesting information to digest regarding “CO2 removal” but what MAINLY caught my eye was the fast rate of soil building. I’ll have to read more into it but I wondered if the soil additive “rock dust” can help build soils at a faster fast at all. Maybe I’m not on the right track there but it crossed my mind so thought I’d share.

Permaculture Hamilton

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

By Tim Radford – Climate News Network

The speed at which soil is produced by rain falling on mountain slopes proves to be much faster than science had realised – with significant implications for carbon in the atmosphere.

LONDON, 19 January – US scientists have measured the rate at which mountains make the raw material for molehills – and found that if the climate is rainy enough, soil gets made at an astonishing speed. And in the course of this natural conversion of rock to fertile farmland and forest loam, carbon is naturally removed from the atmosphere.

Isaac Larsen of the University of Washington in Seattle and colleagues from California and New Zealand took a closer look at rates of weathering on the western slopes of the Southern Alps in New Zealand. They report in Science that, according to their measurements, rock is being transformed into soil…

View original post 586 more words

Author: Andrew

My name's Andrew Towell, I’m 32 years of age and I was born and live in a coastal town called Hartlepool located in the North East of England. The idea behind starting the blog is for me to research sustainable living practices, I enjoy growing plants so their will be an emphasis on organic food production.

What do you think about it?

