Mediterranean Diet Key To Preventing Cronic Diseases

As they say “We Are What We Eat”:Image

Eleven senior doctors have presented a strong, new mandate to Prime Minister David Cameron of the English Government, insisting that it’s time for diet to be placed at the forefront of health policy. Although it was research specifically into the prevention of dementia that led to this conclusion, the doctors agree that the Mediterranean diet can go a long way toward preventing many other chronic illnesses.

A Mediterranean-style diet is one that’s rich in fruits, vegetables, nuts and olive oil. Fish is eaten at least twice a week, but meat and sugar only once. Moderate consumption of wine is advised. According to this article in the National Post, such a diet reduces the risk of coronary heart disease, high blood pressure, diabetes, and Alzheimers, while improving cognitive function.

National Post Link: http://life.nationalpost.com/2013/12/09/dementia-should-be-fought-with-diet-u-k-s-top-doctors-urge-we-are-not-going-to-overcome-chronic-diseases-by-prescribing-pills/

It’s not rocket science is it, stop eating processed food and start cooking with fresh produce (preferably organic in my opinion) that you’ve sourced locally from a trust worthy place. Cut down on consumption of meat as well as high sugar content foods. Eat nuts and seeds as well as healthy oil extracts. Just common sense really isn’t it but how many people in England eat with common sense.

Reading these things are making me take a closer look at what I eat and a good start will be me trying to grow my own clean nutrient dense vegetables at home. I’ve got a little girl too so healthy eating in on the forefront of my mind and I need to set a good example too.

Image

Author: Andrew

My name's Andrew Towell, I’m 32 years of age and I was born and live in a coastal town called Hartlepool located in the North East of England. The idea behind starting the blog is for me to research sustainable living practices, I enjoy growing plants so their will be an emphasis on organic food production.

What do you think about it?

