“The Three Sisters” – Companion Planting

The ancient Native American technique of growing Corn, Beans, and Squash together in an arrangement called the Three Sisters is the ultimate in companion planting and helps increase harvests, naturally!

Corn acts as a support for climbing bean vines, the beans fix nitrogen in the soil for the high feeding requirements of corn and squash, and the squash provides mulch and root protection for the corn and beans! After cooperating beautifully in the garden, corn and beans form a complete protein when eaten together!

Try and think about these things when planting your garden next!

Picture from Threes.com

Author: Andrew

My name's Andrew Towell, I’m 32 years of age and I was born and live in a coastal town called Hartlepool located in the North East of England. The idea behind starting the blog is for me to research sustainable living practices, I enjoy growing plants so their will be an emphasis on organic food production.

5 thoughts on ““The Three Sisters” – Companion Planting”

  1. Hi Andrew! Here in west Wales I find that my corn does not grow fast enough to support my beans, so this year I also installed beanpoles in my three-sisters planting, and this has been very successful. Now the corn is taller, the beans and squashes are climbing up it. In addition, this year I planted flint corn from Carol Deppe rather than sweetcorn and that seems to be working well… it’s all about the tweaking!

    1. Thanks ever so much for the reply, I really appreciate you giving us the knowledge you’ve gained from your practical experience with this method. Note taken and will follow your method from now on, as should others here in the UK! Thanks again!

      I’ll look into the flint corn growing for future reference as well, cheers!

What do you think about it?

