The Heritage Seed Library (for Tomatoes)

The Heritage Seed Library (for Tomatoes)

I just wanted to to put up a link to the “charity/club” as I joined a few years ago and support what they are doing, there is an argument out there at some of the more modern tomato varieties have been breed for disease resistance and yield and in doing so have lost some of those old interesting tastes qualities of yesteryear!

The Heritage Seed Library (formally known as The Henry Doubleday Research Association) based in the UK is well known for holding a large variety of old open pollinated Heritage and Heirloom varieties of vegetables that would have otherwise have been lost or forgotten.

The basic principle is that you become a member for £20 and they send you 6-7 varieties of what ever vegetables you wish for, so if your thing is tomatoes you can get those. It’s not exactly cheap at £3 a pack but you are supporting a cause here and it’s difficult to get access to these “lines” anywhere else so you pay for what you get.

I got other veg from them but the Tomatoes I got from them in seed Enorma, Jubilee and Sugar Italian Plum. I will be updating the blog with photo’s from my greenhouse soon showing you the good and the bad.

I also got some of the Plug plants from Delfland Nurseries but I will add another post for that too.

Let me know if you have a good source for open pollinated Heritage or Heirloom seed or can suggest a good tasty tomato for me?

Author: Andrew

My name's Andrew Towell, I’m 32 years of age and I was born and live in a coastal town called Hartlepool located in the North East of England. The idea behind starting the blog is for me to research sustainable living practices, I enjoy growing plants so their will be an emphasis on organic food production.

What do you think about it?

